Scientific Steering Group

The GCCTI is supported by a national Scientific Steering Group which includes representation from individuals with scientific, clinical and methodological expertise to inform the direction of the initiative.

Professor Martin Stockler
Oncology Co-Director, NHMRC CTC

Professor Steve Ackland
Director – Hunter Cancer Research Alliance

A/Prof Richard De Abreu Lourenco
Centre for Health Economics Research and Evaluation (CHERE), University of Technology Sydney

Professor Anna DeFazio
Sydney West Chair of Translational Cancer Research, Centre of Cancer Research
(The University of Sydney)

Dr Alex Dobrovic
Translational Genomics & Epigenomics Laboratory (Olivia Newton-John Cancer Research Institute)

Craig Gedye
Calvary Mater Newcastle

Dr Andrew Haydon
Medical Oncologist (Alfred Health)

Dr Kirsten Hogg
Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research

Dr Paul Jackson
Manager, Research and Clinical Trials (Cancer Australia)

Ms Lillian Leigh
Patient advocate

Dr Kate Mahon
Medical Oncologist (Chris O’Brien Lifehouse, Sydney; Medical Oncologist and Royal Prince Alfred Hospital)

Prof Michael Millward
Cancer Council Professor of Clinical Cancer Research (University of Western Australia), Consultant Medical Oncologist (Linear Clinical Research), Adjunct Professor (School of Medical and Health Sciences, Edith Cowan University)

A/Professor Clare Scott
Medical Oncologist and Laboratory Head, Stem Cells and Cancer Division (Walter and Eliza Hall Institute)

Prof John Simes
Senior Principal Research Fellow, Founding Director of NMHRC Clinical Trials Centre (University of Sydney)

Dr William Stevenson
Clinical Haematologist (Royal North Shore Hospital)

John Stubbs

Working Groups

Expert working groups will be established for new concepts selected for development into proposals. The working groups will be formed on as needed basis, and will draw members from the project team, SSG, Advisory Panel and other experts as required (such as quality of life and/or health and pharmaco-economic expertise). The working groups will provide content knowledge, expertise and input required to develop high quality proposals for grant submissions.